So let me begin with something that I shouldn’t have to begin with. I have no problem with the observation of Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday as a national holiday celebration, reflecting and commemorating the life of the the most visible leader of the civil rights movement.

      Today, I walk into a branch of Wells Fargo Bank, NA, which had a sign proudly displayed on the door: “We  will be OPEN on Monday, February 20th, 2012″.

        Now, this is the same bank that 14 months ago made a “corporate decision” not to allow Christmas trees in the branches. I was told then that “we’d have to put up a Menorah too”. I told them DAMN RIGHT you have to do that….. in fact, that was how it was when I was a child.

        Sooooo… I approach the teller and ask why they are open on Monday. Corporate decision! One of the ONLY banking institutions that will be open. The Fed is closed.

       Now, being usually quiet and reserved, I asked in a strong voice WHY they were closed in January? Doesn’t the man who led the American Revolution and served as our 1st President deserve the same respect? Doesn’t the man who anguished over the Civil War and who freed the slaves deserve the same?

         I left by telling them that political correctness has “run amuck!!”

        Time to use the matrees instead of the banks!